1. Home
  2. Getting started
  3. Group and module settings
  1. Home
  2. Getting started
  3. Group and module settings

Group and module settings

Administration account

When you created an account on Serviceprotocol.com, a user account and an administrator account were automatically created. Both accounts are linked to your email address. To log in with your admin account, add “admin.” (admin.nn.nn@company.com) before your username. Passwords are the same on both accounts unless you have changed the password yourself on one of the accounts.

From Aug 2023, a new customer creating a group (i.e. the first account created for your company) automatically becomes an administrator. That person can then grant admin permissions to any number of employees.

With admin-permissions, you can add users, set permissions for users and make a number of settings and adjustments to the system for your needs. Also read My account concerning user permissions and settings.

When new functions are added to the system, you as an administrator need to sign in and set permissions for what the users should be able to do in the new function. Stay up to date by visiting the News/updates page regularly.

Edit settings and user permissions:
  1. Sign in with admin permissions.
  2. Select the portal for which you want to change settings. Your account can be linked to multiple companies or groups. Usually there is only one, and then you land directly on the Group settings page.
  3. Click the function for which you want to change settings.
  4. Save the settings.

If you want to access the group- and module settings when you are signed in to the system but on another page, click on the company/group name (at the top of the page to the left), to enter the group setting page.

Group settings

On the page Group settings you manage users in the group, add integrations, upload your logo and add your contact information, upload registers etc.

Upload logo for the group / company. The logo is added to printouts and to the login box for customer users (if you chose to use that function). The logo is also used in your e-mails if you have chosen to do so in the E-mail settings.

Subgroup logo setting

Do you want to use different logos to your subgroups?

  1. Go to Group Settings – Module Settings – Group Settings.
  2. Click Add Image under the subgroup you want to add a logo to.

The logo will be added to prints associated with the subgroup.

Edit (at the bottom of the page)
Contact information
  • Enter contact person and address for the group / company
  • Add billing address.
Currency and value
  • Enter Price Unit
  • Enter currency and value for the currency if you buy via EDI from suppliers who have entered a currency other than your default. The system then takes the price on the delivery note/EDI file and multiplies it by the value you entered for the currency here.
    Check with the supplier how the currency is stated on the delivery note/EDI file and enter it in the same way, e.g. EUR.
Add integrations
  • Add integration with your accounting system and see which EDI connections to suppliers that have been installed.
  • Select model databases. Selected model categories are displayed in the Model view and when selecting a model during the creation or modification of Service objects.
Upload registers
Export register
  • Export registers from the system
Add, delete and change user permissions
Click on the user name and the various options will appear – change permissions, edit user settings, license/status…
Add

Add new user. Each new user generates a new license. Your charge will change automatically. Read more: Add users.

Delete user – Inactivate

Users that for some reason no longer will use the system are not deleted. Instead you inactivate the user. The user remains in the system to keep the history and traceability. You do not pay a license for the user. The system handles this automatically. You do not need to report that an employee / user is inactive.

If necessary (due to GDPR for example) the user’s name can be anonymized and you still keep the history and traceability. Contact us and we will fix it!

Manage user permissions

Under Edit permission there are a variety of settings for each function in Service Protocol that you can make for each employee, for example what should be shown to the employee, if he has the opportunity to create, edit or delete orders and documents.

Under Change rights there are a variety of settings for each function in Service Protocol that you can make for each employee, for example what should be shown to the employee, if he has the opportunity to create, edit or delete orders and documents.

By granting permissions, you also choose which functions a user should see. We recommend that you only set permissions to the functions used to reduce the menu.

Read more about user permissions and creating permission templates.

Add new administrators

Click on users who should have administrator rights, select Change rights and select Admin.

Add new external resource

You can add external users with limited permissions to the system. These are marked with the text (external) in the list of users. Read more about external resources here.

Add a View Only Users

Should an employee, etc., only be able to read, not be able to add or change anything? Make the person a Read Only User. Click on Create a View Only User, enter a e-mail address and mark the accept terms checkbox.

Adding a view only user does not generate a new license and is free of charge.

Module settings

Subgroup settings

Under this tab you add subgroups. The subgroups are then selectable on Work Orders.

Subgroups can be used if the company consists of different companies that have different organization numbers and different invoicing systems. By creating subgroups, all companies / departments can share resources, customers, orders and items. Subgroups can also be used to distinguish between different departments / competencies which can then, for example, be linked to commonly occurring articles within the department / competence.

Custom fields for work orders can be linked to the subgroups by specifying whether these should be included or not. This setting is made under “Edit work order settings”.

Updated on 28 January 2024

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles